Interview – First Time Tinder User

I interviewed my friend who is currently using a dating app, Tinder, for the first time.

  • You recently downloaded Tinder. How is your experience so far?

I can’t say much about it since its recent, but so far it has been a positive experience. I am in shock as to see how there are different men who message me and the things they say.

  • Have you been on any dates?

Yes, I have been on 2 dates so far with the same person, unfortunately we stopped talking after the second date. After observing and talking to a few friends, I realised his intentions were very different to mine.

  • What do you think about dating apps?

I think it’s nice to have dating apps to meet people I wouldn’t normally get to meet. I guess Tinder is more of a hook up app more than actually trying to find a stable relationship. I guess dating apps has their pros and cons, pros being able to meet someone that you wouldn’t normally encounter and cons being too social online. Like when you talk to multiple people and if one doesn’t really interest you, you don’t really care too much because you think that, you know there’s still plenty of other people I can swipe and talk to. I mean Tinder you can just swipe and its superficial and judging people because you just see what you like based on how someone perceives themselves online. Compared to back then when texting was expensive and you physically had to go out to get to know each other.

  • Do you think using dating apps is the norm these days?

Definitely, I know a few couple that have met through Tinder and I don’t feel awkward talking about my experiences on Tinder with friends.

  • If you got a boyfriend through Tinder, would you be embarrassed to introduced how you met him to your family?

No, because I have friends that have met their significant other through Tinder, but it will take a while to tell my parents about it.

  • Do you think dating apps is for you?

Not really, after talking to a few people on Tinder, their intentions are very different to mine and I don’t think I’ll be using Tinder for a very long time. It’s very hard to keep a conversation without them suddenly commenting on my body or looks inappropriately. But I mean, I’ll still use it and see if anyone is the right one for me, if not I can always just meet new friends.

  • Would you prefer to meet a person online or in person?

I personally do want to meet someone in real life, like at a cafe, kind of like in movies but because of my shy personality it is hard for me to approach someone first so Tinder is a good starting point for me to potentially meet someone. But I do feel like Tinder has given me more confidence in some way. I recently gave a really cute guy that works at a restaurant my number, it was a shame he already has a girlfriend but hey, he is really adorable. If I never downloaded Tinder. I don’t think I would approach anyone in person.

  • How has technology changed for dating?

I grew up in the age where technology was developing really fast from dial up connection to wireless connection. I think it’s great that you can just connect with anyone from all over the world at anytime. Technology has made meeting new people a lot more easier and same goes for dating. But sometimes it can be dangerous, some people get scammed, there was recent news where this guy met up with his tinder date and it turned out to be 3 guys, who physically abused him and stole his car. Dating can be dangerous online but it also can connect people like FaceTime and Skype.

  • What do you think dating is going to be like in 2050?

Very like tech involved, for example people are going out but still using Tinder to swipe. I see it happening very often. I think it’s pointless to talk to people in person when you’re just swiping and I don’t want that to happen in 2050.

 

Leave a comment